top of page

The Mayor of WakeMed

"Can we take a photo of him...?"

This is the main question I hear from all corners of the campus of WakeMed from the time I park my car, to the time we roll out after our shift. But once we cross through those beautiful glass doors of the hospital, we are mobbed by people who ask a range of questions...sometimes all at once...! They want to know about Rin...to know if he's a Therapy Dog...yes, he is. Is he my own personal dog, or does he belong to the hospital...? "He belongs to me, he's my own personal dog, and we're both volunteers." I respond back to 5 people at once. How can I do this work with my own dog...? How old is he...? What is his favorite food...? Always more questions... But the most common question is, can Rin's photo be taken? Can it be taken by visitors, staff, patient families, and all manner of humanity...after all, Rin's pretty photogenic; and this past weekend, the last weekend of April, Rin seemed to running for the Mayor of WakeMed.

Recent studies have highlighted the plight of exhaustion among Nurses; as if it was news...Rin and I have known about the physical, emotional and mental load Nurses carry for a long time. We see them walking on the units, and when they see Rin, they rise up on their toes, throw their arms in the air and say, "RIN!! Hey, y'all ...Rin's here!!" I defy any politician to have the same level of adoration from even their base supporters... Rin raises the spirits and energy and emotional well-being of every person who sees him; he lowers his head and pushes his ears low (out of respect) and his tail starts wagging, wagging, wagging fast and wide. Then comes the question, "Can we have a photo with him...? Can we take a photo of him...?" My response is always, "Of course you can take a photo of him, or with him...he's here for YOU...!" The reaction is just pure joy...they get their photos and say good-bye and I can see they're lighter and brighter and happier. The joy I get from seeing that response to Rin simply cannot be measured.

On one particular occasion recently, I was stopped by a patient who was taking the air in the beautiful WakeMed courtyard, who wanted to know all about Rin...but had trouble speaking the words, which is not uncommon. He reached out to pet Rin, and then his arm suddenly stopped and hung in the air...and his hand came to rest on my face. My usual position is to drop to my knees when someone is in a seated position, or to position myself where I can see a person eye-to-eye, so I was there at eye level with Rin as well, and was an easy reach for him. He stroked my forehead and nose for a time, until his wife, who was there with him, stopped him..."You can't touch her face...!" She said, looking embarrassed, and I gave her an easy smile and said, "Hey...people touch Rin's face all the time...I reckon we are starting to look a lot alike, right...?" She looked at me with surprise in her face and then laughed; I could see her face relax. Rin's tail started to wag at the sound of laughter and I laughed too...after all, what's life without laughter and silly moments. That's the job of a Therapy Dog team...to be silly, to be happy, to be understanding, to be compassionate and to educate whenever we can about the healing power of animals; dogs in particular.

Rin is one of about 20 other Therapy Dogs who volunteer regularly at WakeMed Hospitals; but my perspective is focused solely on Rin...and from my viewpoint, he's the Mayor of WakeMed, making the rounds, meeting and greeting all people with the same love and adoration no matter who they are. Rin was a shelter dog and a rescue dog...a 'throw-away soul'...but as he was saved, he works every week to save others, and I think he does a pretty fair job at it. He wants to help...he wants to connect...he loves to love. And, of course, he loves the odd cookie... Maybe our politicians can learn from how openly and how fully a dog welcomes the world...? But, that's not for me to judge, I only know how lucky I am to be the bulter, maid, chauffer, chef, and Mommy to the best Mayor in the world.

FOLLOW ME
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page